7 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2010 4:34 AM by TK45

    Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.

    TK45

      Hi,

       

      I have a question about upgrading to v5 from v4. Are following steps available way as upgrading prodecure to v5.x from v4.x?

       

      [Steps]

      1. Upgrade server to v5 from v4.

      2. Create install set for v5 from server.

      3. Execute the install set on v4 client machine.

      4. Restart machine.

      5. Pass PBA of v4, then safeboot.fs is converted to v5 one.

      6. Restart again.

      >>> PBA becomes v5 version.

       

      In my testing, the client machine that experienced above steps can look working fine. I think above way is better than the general way (i.e. the way of sync to server) because I can make network traffic lower.

       

      Thanks!

       

       

      このメッセージは次により編集されています: TK45 on 10/05/06 6:50:38 CDT
        • 1. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.

          I'm not sure if your method is better... you still need to deliver install set, so it doesn't matter from a network load perspective.

          We change file set for that machine and allow to sync. With that and some other modifications, it seems to work very well.

          Our modifications make upgrade process as interactive, so user is in the driver seat as to when to launch client upgrade. Through informative screens we guide user throughout upgrade or report failed upgrade reasons that can be used by help desk.

          • 2. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.

            This would only work if you disable file sync on the clients, otherwise they will go and put all the 4 files back again. It also means you'll end up with a mix of 4 and 5 files, so I am surprised the machine worked at all afterwards. Finally, it will make it difficult to enable file sync again in the future.

             

            I would stick to the supported process.

            • 3. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.
              TK45

              Sorry, the steps of my first comment was not enough. I had changed files of the machine object. i.e. v4 files are not put back again even if the client syncs to server.

              Let me indicate my steps again. So please confirm if the steps is available?

               

              [Steps]

              1. Install v4 to client "Machine A".

              2. Upgrade server to v5 from v4.

              3. Change files of the machine object to v5 from v4.

              4. Create install set for v5 from the machine object.

              5. Execute the install set on v4 client "Machine A".

              6. Restart machine.

              7. Pass PBA of v4, then safeboot.fs is converted to v5 one. SbClientLog is following.

              -------------------------------------------------------------------

              Starting SafeBoot Client Manager (v5.1.3)
              Starting synchronization
              Connecting to database: "CBI-AY6AAJVRFXC"
              Address=XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX
              Port=5555
              Authenticate=Yes
              Attempting upgrade from version 4.20
              Gathering information from old file system
              Creating new version
              Converting configuration from v4.x

              Importing machine configuration
              Machine ID = 00000002
              Importing users
              Importing user "UserA" (ID=00000002)
              Importing user "SBAdmin" (ID=00000001)
              Importing application control hashes
              Upgrade completed successfully
              Updating SBFS file "Bar.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Middle.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Options.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Stripe.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Bar.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Middle.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Options.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Stripe.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Bar.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Middle.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Options.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Stripe.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Graphics.ini"
              Updating SBFS file "Tahoma12B.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "Tahoma18B.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "Tahoma8.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "Tahoma8B.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "Logonbanner.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "Recovery.bmp"
              Updating SBFS file "12.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "8.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "8B.pbf"
              Updating SBFS file "0411.str"
              Updating SBFS file "0411_E.MAP"
              Updating SBFS file "0411_OSK.XML"
              Updating SBFS file "0511.MAP"
              Updating SBFS file "Locale.ini"
              Applying configuration
              Starting remote access server on port 5556
              Synchronization complete
              Applying cryption changes
              -------------------------------------------------------------------

               

              8. Restart again.

              >>> PBA becomes v5 version.

              • 4. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.
                3. Change files of the machine object to v5 from v4.

                and subsequent sync would upgrade client.

                 

                Why do you create install set from machine object? Proper way is to create install set based on machine group.

                • 5. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.
                  TK45

                  My aplogies for confuse.

                  The final result is the same between creating install set based on group and object.

                  So I would appreciate if you could recognize steps3 as "Create install set based on group.".

                  • 6. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.

                    actually it's not - if you were to disable/re-enable this machine, it would try to use a fixed object in the DB rather than grabbing a new one. You're just lucky this time.

                     

                    As peter says, don't create machine based packages, only group based ones.

                     

                    There are a lot of timing dependencies in your process - you're assuming you can switch file groups, then install the v5 package on a machine before it syncs. I would stick to the approved supported procedure still.

                    • 7. Re: Overwrite installation of v5.x in order to upgrade to v5.x from v4.x.
                      TK45

                      Thank you for your answers. I will use proper way, not this way.