6 Replies Latest reply on Aug 4, 2010 3:16 AM by JoeBidgood

Mcafee SuperAgent (EPO 4.5)

Hi Guys

I am new to Mcafee. we are using EPO 4.5. I would like to knwo about Mcafee superagent. can anybody please let me know how it works, how to create a superagent & how to list  or identifiy super agernt in epolocy 4.5. If there is any other information about Superagent thes pleat let me know.

Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Mcafee SuperAgent (EPO 4.5)
          JThomas
          The SuperAgent is an agent with the ability to contact all agents in the same subnet as the SuperAgent, using the SuperAgent wakeup call. Its use is triggered by Global Updating being enabled on the ePolicy Orchestrator (ePO) server, and it provides a bandwidth efficient method of sending agent wakeup calls.
          Understanding the SuperAgent -KB59326
          • 2. Re: Mcafee SuperAgent (EPO 4.5)

Hi Thomas ,

Is this possible we can get the installtion procedure for superagent .

Regards

Udayakiran.MN

• 3. Re: Mcafee SuperAgent (EPO 4.5)
              rackroyd

A superagent is defined by a tickbox in the McAfee Agent policy, there is no separate installation process for it.

Rgds,

Rob.

• 4. Re: Mcafee SuperAgent (EPO 4.5)
                rackroyd

Also, from the ePO 4.5 Product guide.

Remember that a SuperAgent and SuperAgent Repository are not the same thing.

SuperAgents and broadcast wake-up calls

If you operate in a Windows environment and plan to use agent wake-up calls to initiate

agent-server communication, consider converting an agent on each network broadcast segment

into a SuperAgent.

SuperAgents distribute the bandwidth load of concurrent wake-up calls. Instead of sending

agent wake-up calls from the server to every agent, the server sends the SuperAgent wake-up

call to SuperAgents in the selected System Tree segment. When SuperAgents receive this

wake-up call, they send broadcast wake-up calls to all agents in their network broadcast

segments.

The process is: