6 Replies Latest reply on May 5, 2010 1:53 PM by Mal09

Artemis! has blocked my FTP client. What to do?

Hello,

I've been using McAfee for years. I had recently bought a new computer, and when it's preloaded McAfee trial expired today I upgraded and added it to my existing account (3 other computers). Big mistake.

I'm an independent game developer, and run my own website. I needed to update it today, which I had planned on doing after upgrading my McAfee subscription. However, I use a program called Wise FTP to upload files to my server, which I have used for years without issue. Some time after updating McAfee, I attempted to launch it from a shortcut but was unable to as it gave me "this program could not be found" messages.

I dug into the folder I had installed it to and found that it's executable file was missing. Long story short, I eventually discovered that McAfee was now flagging it as a Trojan using it's Artemis system. I followed the instructions I found by searching this forum to disable VirusScan, but it continues to remove the file as soon as I unquarentine it.

I've done some research on Artemis and found quite a number of similar complaints. I have to say that I'm deeply disappointed that a program I've come to trust and rely on has cost me so much time and effort over what should have been a non-issue. A simple option to permanantly un-quarantine a file would have saved me over three hours of lost productivity this afternoon - we're about to release a new game, so I'm extremely lucky that I thought to upload its web page early instead of waiting until everything else was live.

Going from these instructions (http://community.mcafee.com/thread/2016), am I correct that I should send an email to virus_research@avertlabs.com with the subject line False and the file's Artemis name? And do I need to zip the file and send it to Avert for analysis? The file is wise_ftp.exe and the detection name is Artemis! 1A0B228AE5B2