5 Replies Latest reply on Apr 28, 2010 11:03 AM by fab5friend

The 5958 issue, cannot copy any files. How can I use the fix???

In Safe Mode there is no task bar and the Start-key on the keybord doesn't work either. Because I cannot access files the normal way I used ctrl-alt-del to start the task manager and then used the Run-command to type E: so that I can at least see the files on the usb where I have put the SDAT5958_EM.exe file. But I cannot copy the file to the desktop as suggested in the "helpful" support documents. Tried using the menu copy/paste commands, tried ctrl c/ctrl v on keyboard. Nothing works. I am not a programmer, can someone please help me out?

1) Is there another way to copy? Using the Run-command window somehow?

2) Or can I run the fixfile from the usb?

Desperate, please help, support does not answer!

• 1. Re: The 5958 issue, cannot copy any files. How can I use the fix???

Hi,

I had the same problem. What I had to do for my home version of virus scan) was:

Delete the DAT folder from c:\program files\mcafee\virusscan

Copy the file svchost.exe from a working computer (easiest way for me as the %systemroot%..... etc  copying method didnt work) - from directory c:\windows\system32. By the way, copy it to the root directory of a usb drive/pen drive, for simplicity.

Stick the pen drive in the affected computer and note the drive letter it is assigned. Reboot into safe mode with command prompt (F8 at startup). Am assuming you're familiar with this.

I had forgotten a lot of DOS but finally hit on....

At the command prompt make sure you're in the root directory of the c drive (i.e. if you're not, type "cd c:\"     (without the inverted commas). You should then end up with the prompt c:\>

Check the drive letter assigned to the usb drive you stuck in earlier. e.g. If the drive letter was "E" when you previously inserted it, start with that, it should be the same now that you're in safe mode/command prompt. check it by typing cd e:\