6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2010 6:41 AM by exbrit

McAfee Full Scan and Windows Aero

First off, I apologize--I'm not a computer techie.

Anyway, since Easter, occasionally when I have conducted full scans (my McAfee subscription was automatically updated to AntiVirus Plus April 14--and I purchased McAfee from my local Office Depot--as they recommend that product--in Dec. 2009) on my 2-year old Compaq Presario (with Windows Vista while I have disabled Aero as my "colors and appearance" option), I have occassionally noticed that my full scans stall (sometimes for at least an hour--and then I would have to cancel the scan) when coming to this file:

C:\Windows\winsxs\x86_m  [. . . ] f1c7e8575\aero.msstyles

I didn't have any problems on my last full scan when McAfee came across this file last week (I like doing full scans once a week if possible), but today the full scan stalled again on the above file--even after disabling the Windows Aero option in "Colors and Appearance" and after the upgrade.

Has anyone had similar problems with this file in their full scans, and if so, what is the explanation for this?  What do you recommend in solving this problem--this is making me start to wonder if I should look at another antivirus product (which would be my fourth one I will have used in 2 years--I started out with Trend and later Webroot--but those gave me problems, particularly Webroot's failure to update my product)?

• 1. Re: McAfee Full Scan and Windows Aero

Shortly after posting this question, I thought my problem got solved: by making sure my laptop did not go to "sleep" during a McAfee full scan-- which made it seem that the scan was freezing at 83% on the file ending in "aero.msstyles".

Today, even though I still made sure the computer didn't fall asleep, my full scan stalled again at the above-listed file (even though I have the Windows Aero style option disabled on my computer).  Anyone know what the problem might be?