8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2010 3:07 AM by rackroyd

How to deploy av client with epo 3.6?

Hi,

I hope I can find help as complete newbie. I overtook a server (Windows Server 2003) with McAfee anti virus products, my task is to install some new XP-Prof-Clients to network. On the server are running some McAfee products, it took me a while to find out that Epolicy Manager seems to be the right tool for remote installing of clients. It took me hours now to work on this, but there seems to be no chance to find out.

Could someone please help with a short step by step advice how to use this epo program (or the Antivirus GUI) to deploy virus scanners to clients? If you use terms like "agent" or "check in package" please bear in mind that I don't know exactly that an "agent" is the complete software needed by a client to be protected and that "check in" means installing a scanner on a client or just loading a package for deployment onto the server.

Thanks in advance,

Karl

• 1. Re: How to deploy av client with epo 3.6?
          rackroyd

Hi,

Your best bet is to grab a very strong coffee and read through the 'ePO 3.6.x Walkthrough Guide' - Support article PD20047 found in the Knowledge base search here:

https://mysupport.mcafee.com/eservice/Default.aspx

Please bear in mind though that this version of ePO is no longer supported by McAfee, you may be better served upgrading to ePO 4.5 first.

Rgds,

Rob. 

• 2. Re: How to deploy av client with epo 3.6?

Rackroyd,

thanks a lot. That makes me anxious: there are clients without protection - and I have to work  through manuals to protect them. What software is this???