1 2 Previous Next 16 Replies Latest reply on Apr 16, 2010 1:39 AM by serc09

Create msi-package for MA & VSE

serc09

Hey,

we are using epo 4.5 (patch1) and i need to create a msi-package which includes MA (4.0.0.1494) and VSE (8.7.0.570.Wrk).

How can i create such a msi-package? I've never done this before.

Hope someone can help me.

THX

Regards

serc09

• 1. Re: Create msi-package for MA & VSE
          JoeBidgood

I doubt this will be possible... both the VSE and MA installers are MSI packages, and the installer won't let you run two packages at once (which is why you can't embed an agent package in a VSE install using the installation designer.)

Sorry

Regards -

Joe

• 2. Re: Create msi-package for MA & VSE
            serc09

OK, and where do i find those 2 msi packages?

Regards,

serc09

• 3. Re: Create msi-package for MA & VSE
              Sailendra Pamidi

Once you download the zip files for MA & VSE from the McAfee downloads page, you can extract them to get the MSI packages.

• 4. Re: Create msi-package for MA & VSE
                serc09

Hah, that sounds way too easy to be true - i'll check that in office tomorrow...  

THX

serc09

• 5. Re: Create msi-package for MA & VSE
                  serc09

Hey,

there are msi files in the zip-packages, but i can't just take these msi files and install them on a client - see the error messages attached.

Then i tried something:

I connected to "\\<eposerver>\McAfee\ePolicy Orchestrator\DB\Software\Current\EPOAGENT3000\Install\0409" and doubleclicked the msi there - worked all fine.

But if i just take out the msi from that folder, i again get the error msg attached.

------------

Let me explain you the reason why i need the msi packages:

Our company perhaps want's to have a new AV-Solution (Avira) and i have do the tests....

Avira-Support told me thay they can provide us mit automatic de-installation-scripts for our actuall AV-Solution, but therefore they need to have the msi packages.