7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 22, 2010 6:58 PM by bcaseiro

New Script.ext?

mkmcgui5

I have a script that I have written to update Java each time a new update is available.  The script enumerates the HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall keys to find all installed versions of Java and then it removes the old versions before installing the new versions.

As I save this script, the McAfee agent detects it as a New Script.ext threat and deletes my file.

Is there anything that I can do to keep this from happening?

• 1. Re: New Script.ext?

I am not a product expert but I have moved your post to our VirusScan Enterprise area. Hopefully someone can help you soon.

• 2. Re: New Script.ext?
            mkmcgui5

I'm now having the same type of issue with another script (ironically this script is supposed to repair broken McAfee installs).  Is there a way that we can at least "white list" this script via EPO or something?

• 3. Re: New Script.ext?

Hello,

Can you please upload your On-Access log file so I can see how exactly it was detected?

It should be there: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\McAfee\DesktopProtection

Regards,
              Bruno

• 4. Re: New Script.ext?
                mkmcgui5

Hi Bruno,

I copied all the data from the time I started seeing this issue.  I also changed the name of the domain and the username.

You will see several likes like "Script execution blocked  username PrimalScript.exe Script executed by PrimalScript.exe New Script (Virus)".  Those appeared when I would simply try to edit the script within PrimalScript.  I am guessing that it has something to do with the way the software keeps track of the "undo" data.  I also tried with UltraEdit and had the same results when saving the script.

At one point I stopped the McShield service, saved the script, started the McShield service, and then tried running the script, and it didn't like that either.  :-)