Skip navigation
McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams
6268 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: Apr 10, 2012 4:01 PM by ajclements RSS 1 2 Previous Next
wormnrifle Newcomer 8 posts since
Feb 5, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 5, 2010 2:25 PM

Content Analysis & Advanced Content Analysis

I'm looking for a good step by step tutorial on how to create and manage these.  I've been using a Cisco IronPort device for the past three years and finding it hard to make the transition to my IronMail box.

I was also wondering if there was a way, at the CLI, to grep for messages?  I know I can look at the summary log, but it's not detailed enough for what I'm looking for.  Thanks.

• jp74 Newcomer 1 posts since
    Apr 25, 2010
    1. Apr 25, 2010 1:48 PM (in response to wormnrifle)
    Re: Content Analysis & Advanced Content Analysis

show events | grep <parameter>

• ijahnke McAfee Employee 118 posts since
    May 12, 2010
    2. May 13, 2010 12:20 AM (in response to wormnrifle)
    Re: Content Analysis & Advanced Content Analysis

Content Analysis can be used for either anti-spam purposes or compliance.

Anti-spam

There are times when spam messages manage to just barely make it through the appliance before TrustedSource has updated message sig/ip. Often times they have some sort of consistency and just need a little help to push them over the edge.

Lets say there is a message coming in with the string "I am spam".

1. You would go to Compliance -> Content Analysis -> Dictionaries
      1. Click on "Add New"
      2. We will name the dictionary "Spam_dictionary"
      3. Contribute Toward SpamProfiler: yes
      4. Search Option for HTML Parts:both
      5. Click "submit"
    2. You are brought back to the page Content Analysis - Manage Dictionaries
      1. Click on the dictionary that was just created called "Spam_dictionary"
        1. Click "Add New" at the bottom of the screen