1 2 3 Previous Next 45 Replies Latest reply: Mar 17, 2010 9:29 AM by secured2k RSS

Help: how do I remove "XP Antivirus pro 2010"

Hi i am a newbie to all this virus stuff   (but forced to learn!)

What is the process for removing a virus that McAfee cannot find?

I've just bought this Software on Sunday in the hope it would remove the Virus but still no luck?

I know that the program name in taskmanager is av.exe! but cannot find it on my computer?

So, What do I do now?

steve

PS. On Sunday I also downloaded Microsoft's Virus Removal software which failed. I already had AVG Virus protection Software which did not work.

last night:  I downloaded "Malwarebytes'  Anti-Malware" and managed to get it running from MSDOS but it did not find the problem.

I also ran a stinger in report mode only (was mentioned on this forum)  but it did not find the virus (attached) ?

• 1. Re: Help: how do I remove "XP Antivirus pro 2010"

last night I managed to find the virus by clicking the button Start-> Run ->

then entering CMD    (into MSDOS)

C:

CD C:\

dir *AV*.EXE /AH /S

I've then copied and PKZIPPED the file and then sent it to McAfee's Avert(r) Labs... and I've now been waiting for a few hours (my helpdesk ID:5780169)!

PS. I also added to the PKZIP file an unhidden av.exe verison into a separate sub-directory.  MSDOS command to unhide [attrib *AV*.EXE  -S -H ]

I then deleted it! and rebooted Windows,probably a bad idea!  

Windows opened-up (no virus can be seen(Great!) and Word-Documents are working(WooHoo!)

.... BUT.... many other applications will not start anymore (eg McAfee/MSDOS/RegEdit)!

Unsure what to do now?

• 2. Re: Help: how do I remove "XP Antivirus pro 2010"
            SamSwift

Hi,

I've checked the notes on the submissions and can see that an extra.dat file was sent out last night - please could you confirm you have received this?

Thanks,

Sam

• 3. Re: Help: how do I remove "XP Antivirus pro 2010"

thanks Sam

I doubt it will work!