8 Replies Latest reply on Feb 2, 2010 10:17 AM by Proteo

McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .

McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc, please assist.

• 1. Re: McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .
          smalldog

Did you update to Patch 2 for VirusScan Enterprise?

• 2. Re: McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .

Thanks bulldog for replying to my question.

Not sure how to check whether our ePO Server Virus Scan is running what Patches; may you please guide me on that so that I can be able to make sure that is running on Patch 2.

I'm still new to McAfee environment especially ePO Server and McAfee Virus Scan Enterprise; and please advise me futher where to get the best guide on how to adminstrate the ePO server. Already I've got the document on ePO Server 4.0 but still It doesn't give much information for me.

Thanks once again.

SamuelM

Message was edited by: SamuelM on 1/27/10 2:59:13 AM CST
            • 3. Re: McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .
              smalldog

On client click about VirusScan Enterprise to check patch 2 installed or Not. See image attach

• 4. Re: McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .

On Access Scan on V8.7 Patch2 is killing the PC performance. Simply by disabling on access scan you can feel the difference. Really, while opening a program without the on access scan takes seconds, with OAS activated it takes minutes and bump the CPU usage to 80-100%. I now keep OAS disabled most of the time, wich is not that safe.

Andrea

Messaggio modificato da Proteo on 29/01/10 4.43.20 GMT-06:00
                • 5. Re: McAfee 8.7 Virus Scan Engine slows down the pc .
                  runcmd