5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2010 9:57 AM by lostmail99

DLP passthrough of Postscript PDFMark

I am new to this comuunity so I hope I have the right community.

I work with a federal government organization that is implementing McAfee DLP 2.2. DLP was recently installed (no policies have been established yet) on all workstations. When it was installed it replaced the Windows XP Postscript driver (pscript5.dll) with fc_pscript5.dll as expected. Printing through fc_pscript5.dll and on through pscript5.dll appears to work fine for printing to a printer.

However we also use these postscript printers to create postscript files that we then use Acrobat distiller to convert to PDF. Most of the PDF features work fine and the file distills to PDF.

However there are several features that don't appear to show up in the Postscript file. This is includes PDF structure and PDF Meta data. The common theme appears to be that these capabilities are implemented using the Postscript PDFMark command (I believe). It appears as if all PDFMark commands are missing from the Postscript files.

I am not in the IT shop and I am not involved with setting up DLP. I can only ask those guys about DLP and they don't know much. All of my info comes from reading docs.

Is it possible that DLP (without any policies) may not be passing the PDFMark through to the Postscript Printer driver? I use Framemaker to print from (which creates the PDFMark commands). Am I doing something wrong?

Would adding this printer to the whitelist fix this (and disable monitoring at the same time)?

Would disabling the DLP Printer Handler fix this?

Thank you for any ideas.

• 1. Re: DLP passthrough of Postscript PDFMark
          jstanley

Well if this is a new implementation of DLP the first thing I'd suggest is using DLP 3.0 rather than 2.2.