7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2009 8:38 AM by billey100

master repository im just not getting it

I am new to Mcafee and my organization.  They had 8.5i installed on 100 pc's across the org but with no central management.  We purchased everything to do 8.7 on the dekstops and I have muddled my way through installing the ePO on a server here.  I have been able to kind of figure out how to push the agent out half successfully to most computers.  My best success has been to run the framepkg on the pc itself, once thats there I can wakeup the agent from epo in my office and I have a task set to install 8.7.  Seems to be working great, I have no idea if it really is setup properly or best practices for mcafee or not but it seems to be going ok.

Here is my question as I dont quite get the concept of how the flow of this works.  Why is there a master repository and how does it function?  Maybe this will help me figure out why when I log into ePO on my dashboard it says the master repository is not up to date?  My desktops that do have mcafee installed are going out daily at 5pm to autoupdate and it says it was successful but when i check the log it never really changed anything as it says the engine, dat, and others were not in the repository?  I dont see anything in the master repos to setup to grab the latest everyday?  Is that how it is supposed to function, the master grabs the latest by some sort of automated task and then the dekstops use that to update?

Sorry guys I need this on the lowest level possible, I just dont get concept yet, nor do I know if what I have is setup properly in the first place.  I do have support and I have a chatted a few times but they always refer me to the manual and as much as I have read that 300 page document its not making sense.  I need some real world best practices from someone who has this installed.  Thanks

• 1. Re: master repository im just not getting it
          GWIRT