6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2009 5:29 AM by Christopher-Boston

EndPoint Encryption Patching $AutoBoot$

We currently have laptops using EndPoint Encryption in a windows XP environment. We use Patchlink to deploy patches, computers may need to reboot several times, here is our problem. After the first reboot your done and patching will not continue until you log in past the EndPointEncryption (SafeBoot) screen.

What we would like to do is deploy a batch or VB script to bypass the boot screen, deploy all of the packages, deploy a script to re-enable the boot screen.

Does anyone have such a script that they would like to share?

• 1. Re: EndPoint Encryption Patching $AutoBoot$

While I haven't actually done this, I have some experience with $AutoBoot$.

On the console:

Create a copy of your main machine group - add the $autoboot$ ID to it, and make it a controlled group.

When you're ready to patch devices:

Move the machine to the Autoboot group

force sync

On the client:

apply the patches, reboot as needed

Once fully done

On the console:

Move the machine back to the original group

Clear the machine settings, by "reset to group configuration" (assuming the original group was NOT a controlled group)

Add any users to the machine

Force sync

Another option:

On the console:

Add the $autoboot$ id to the machine(s) to be patched (SBAdmCL - AssignIDs)

force sync  (SBAdmCL - ForceSync)

When patching is completed

Remove the $autoboot$ id from the machine(s)  (SBAdmCL - RemoveUser)

force sync.  (SBAdmCL - ForceSync)

Seems to me that the second option is easier/cleaner. It can be scripted on the server side, however the force sync has to be run from the directory the client is installed into (not sure exactly what that means). Also, you'd have to check the return codes, to see if the sync was successful. I do have some VBScript for reading the return code from SBAdmCL, if you're interested.

• 2. Re: EndPoint Encryption Patching $AutoBoot$