1 2 Previous Next 10 Replies Latest reply: Jan 2, 2010 4:15 PM by joetofsd RSS

Virus (?) won't let me run McAfee (or anything else!)

Why didn't my McAfee sub work and what do I do now? My whole computer is shut down, won't let me do anything.  It started with a supposed Windows alert, but it kept going to a screen asking me to subscribe to an anti-virus package, so I wasn't sure it was real.

I have a subscription for  McAfee VirusScan Plus, I've kept it up to date, although the last couple of days I haven't had the time to reboot, but I did so when the Windows alert (I think) popped up and told me I had a threat.   But it won't let me load McAfee or anything else, it just gives me the subscription page for the service. 

It tells me a program is infected and it can't perform the action no matter what I try to do.  When I went to turn off the computer it started updating XP, \i wasn\t sure if it was real or not so I powered down.  Hope I din't further screw things up.

I'm trying to do all this on a new netbook that i can't work very well, I wanted to jus tphone mcafee to see what was going on and they apparently want a whack of money on top of my sub to fix this?  very annoying!  My sub runs out in mid-Dec, should i just try another service?  Wish i made more notes re: what the computer was trying to get me to subscribe to.  Looked like a legit Windows alert. 

• 1. Re: Virus (?) won't let me run McAfee (or anything else!)

to clarify iy isn't asking me to sub to a mcafee program but to a windows or something pro package...

wont let me load mcafee. i get a windows security alert saying application cannot be executed, searchprotocolhost.exe is infected.

wants to go to intsecureprof2009.com.  I think thats where they ask for money.  ??

updast - says antivirus system pro ... scanning my computer, comes up with 34 viruses asks if i want to remove th threats...  and i think \then it asks for money.   says evaluationj copy only, i'm not protected.  obviously a scam.