6 Replies Latest reply on Nov 5, 2009 5:15 PM by wwarren

McAfee - VsTskMgr and Engine Server Memory Issues

Currently in my enterprise, we are switching over to a brand new domain, and also introducing McAfee Enterprise. The problem is, a lot of client machines (which are going to be upgraded within the next few months) have RAM ranging from 256 - 1GB. The VsTskMgr and Engine Server can take from 100-200MB+ each, which of course does not allow the clients to get any work done.

I'm fairly new to McAfee, we are running EPO 4.5.

McAfee Viris Scan Enterprise Workstation - 8.7.0.570

I have come across an article from 2007 (http://forums.mcafeehelp.com/thread/3582) which describes the same situation. A resolution was never posted in that thread though. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

~Navik

• 1. Re: McAfee - VsTskMgr and Engine Server Memory Issues

VsTskMgr and Engine Server service should not consume that much memory. The processes may jump that high but the memory should be released after the actions are performed. Please insure that you are using the 5400 Engine as you may see a small memory leak with the 5301 engine. Outside of that with some configuration of VSE you should be able to run VSE seamlessly.

Ron

• 2. Re: McAfee - VsTskMgr and Engine Server Memory Issues

Actually, it looks like I am running the 5301 engine, how would I upgrade to the 5400 engine? I am fairly new to this, it was just thrown on my lap since there was a problem and no one else could figure it out.

Thanks for your help!

• 3. Re: McAfee - VsTskMgr and Engine Server Memory Issues

You can download the engine here  http://www.mcafee.com/apps/downloads/security_updates/engines.asp?region=us&segm ent=enterprise

Engine-only Superdat File (Intel)

You will want to download the exe and run it on the laptop then reboot.

Your welcome!!

Ron

• 4. Re: McAfee - VsTskMgr and Engine Server Memory Issues
                wwarren