1 2 Previous Next 10 Replies Latest reply on May 9, 2009 10:05 PM by cobollives

    How do I reset my First Use questions?

      hello ,ive had mcafee anti theft for a couple of months and ive forgot what answers i put in the three security questions to reset the vault password ,like in an earlier post can someone email me to on how to reset it ,many thanks in advance.
        • 1. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?


          hello ,ive had mcafee anti theft for a couple of months and ive forgot what answers i put in the three security questions to reset the vault password ,like in an earlier post can someone email me to on how to reset it ,many thanks in advance.
          • 2. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?
            Vinod R


            If you forgot the answers there is no way to retrieve the data from the vault except to select forget password for which there will be the master password that you setup initially.

            if you forget that password there is NO method to reset or unlock an existing vault.

            If you do not need the existing vaults and want to reset the questions for a new vault that you are going to create now yes there is a method to reset the questions....... But again why would you need to reset the questions unless you feel the questions are not good as you would be giving a new password for a every new vault.
            • 3. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?
              thanks for the reply ,i have no existing vaults ive deleted them but i would like to reset the three questions so i have a backup in the future incase i forget the vault passwords , the reason ive forgot the original three questions is that when i first dowloaded antitheft i was just playing about to experiment to see how it worked and i was stupid enough not to make a note of the three answers.
              • 4. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?
                Vinod R


                Oh.. fair enough... Did you try to uninstall the product?
                • 5. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?
                  yes i did uninstall it several times
                  • 6. RE: How do I reset my First Use questions?
                    but it still asks for the three original answers
                    • 7. Security Questions
                      When I installed Anti-Theft, I answered the easiest security questions. Then it occurred to me that the security questions themselves present a security issue should a persistent hacker do some serious research and recover the answers. What kind of security is that? So I changed my mind and decided that I needed to change the security questions to junk answers and rely on myself to remember the password(s). As far as I could tell there was no utility that would allow me to accomplish that task. I chatted with tech support and got a confirmation of that conclusion.

                      It was suggested by Tech Support, however, that I uninstall and reinstall the product and I proceeded to do so. When reinstalling, the security questions were not asked. Hmmm ... That's not good. Somehow the old security questions were not deleted when the software was uninstalled. Perhaps that was figured in should Anti-Theft installation go south. It appears that the security questions are permanently tucked away in a file somewhere, otherwise the security questions would be discharged when the software is uninstalled.

                      Tech Support sent me an email with the following information:

                      Can I change the security questions for my Personal Vault?

                      No. The three security questions are set when you first install McAfee Personal Vault, and they remain the same for all Personal Vaults that you create.
                      Note: Vaults can only be recovered by answering the Security Questions that were known when the Personal Vault was created.

                      Can I set different security questions for each Personal Vault?

                      No. You cannot have different security questions for each Personal Vault.
                      The security questions are set by you when McAfee Personal Vault is installed, and these security questions are automatically stored with each Personal Vault that you create.

                      [Comment: The latter statement is not necessarily true because when the software is reinstalled, new security questions are not asked.]

                      Can McAfee Anti-Theft be integrated into my other McAfee products?

                      No. McAfee Anti-Theft is a separate product and has no integration with other McAfee products. Any changes that you make to other McAfee products (uninstall, install, reconfigure, etc.) will not affect McAfee Anti-Theft.

                      So it looks as though the "MCAfee Personal Vault" is not uninstalled with the software product. When the software is installed the Vault appears as a drive in the computer but goes away when the product is uninstalled. Again, somewhere out there is a folder containing the security questions and their respective answers.

                      Is there anyone out there that has any idea on how to remove the security questions associated with the "MCAfee Personal Vault"?
                      • 8. Heeeeeeeeeeeeelp
                        thanks, here is a post that seems to have sorted it , can you do the same for me please ............................................................................... ................................................................................ ................................................................................ ..................................................................
                        I would like to know how I can reset the First Use questions of McAfee Anti-Theft. The reason is I made a typo when I answered them, so now I can't use them to reset passwords. So they are of no use to me and I have to rely only on the password of the Vault itself.

                        I tried deleting all of my Vaults and doing an uninstall of Mcafee Anti-Theft, and then a re-install, but that did not let me re-answer the FirstUse questions.

                        It seems to me that if I have deleted all of my vaults, I should be allowed to reset my first use questions.

                        Any suggestions?

                        Thank you very much.

                        Amir.

                        AmirDov
                        View Public Profile
                        Find all posts by AmirDov
                        Add AmirDov to Your Contacts

                        #2 10-26-2008, 04:31 PM
                        Ex_Brit
                        McAfee Maniac Join Date: May 2004
                        Location: Toronto, Canada 43.7° N 79.4° W
                        Posts: 34,316



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        No, it's not possible. See "Common Questions About Anti-Theft": http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocumen...=10005&type=TS

                        It's not possible to change those questions.

                        Your only answer would be to uninstall it in the normal fashion and then use the MCPR removal tool (linked in my signature) which removes ALL McAfee software completely.

                        I don't use Anti-Theft myself but I would imagine that after a reboot things should start afresh with a new installation.

                        Ex_Brit
                        View Public Profile
                        Visit Ex_Brit's homepage!
                        Find all posts by Ex_Brit
                        Add Ex_Brit to Your Contacts

                        #3 10-27-2008, 06:23 AM
                        Ex_Brit
                        McAfee Maniac Join Date: May 2004
                        Location: Toronto, Canada 43.7° N 79.4° W
                        Posts: 34,316



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        AmirDov, I am asking around for you. In the meanwhile did you know that McAfee does offer free phone tech. support for all products to N.American customers? As long as it's within 30 days of purchase direct from McAfee or a retail outlet. (If it's ISP supplied I don't think it applies).
                        http://community.mcafee.com/showthread.php?t=224003

                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                        Last edited by Ex_Brit; 10-27-2008 at 06:25 AM.

                        Ex_Brit
                        View Public Profile
                        Visit Ex_Brit's homepage!
                        Find all posts by Ex_Brit
                        Add Ex_Brit to Your Contacts

                        #4 10-27-2008, 09:04 AM
                        vinod_r2
                        McAfee T2 Technicians Join Date: Feb 2008
                        Location: Cochin
                        Posts: 2,129



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        There is no way to change the three security question.

                        a re-installation can repair the installation but not change the questions.

                        vinod_r2
                        View Public Profile
                        Find all posts by vinod_r2
                        Add vinod_r2 to Your Contacts

                        #5 10-27-2008, 10:21 PM
                        AmirDov
                        Junior Member Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Posts: 3



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Ex_Brit
                        No, it's not possible. See "Common Questions About Anti-Theft": http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocumen...=10005&type=TS

                        It's not possible to change those questions.

                        Your only answer would be to uninstall it in the normal fashion and then use the MCPR removal tool (linked in my signature) which removes ALL McAfee software completely.

                        I don't use Anti-Theft myself but I would imagine that after a reboot things should start afresh with a new installation.



                        Hi,

                        I tried your suggestion. I uninstalled all my McAfee SW and then downloaded and ran MCPR removal tool and rebooted. However, it did not solve the problem. When I reinstalled McAfee Anti-Theft, it bypassed asking the First Use questions. So I am still stuck with no way to redo the First Use questions.

                        The only work-around I can think of is to completely reformat my hard drive. I really hate to do that as it is quite a chore to reinstall all the apps.

                        So.... I am hoping someone may come forward with an additional suggestion.

                        Thanks agan.

                        AmirDov
                        View Public Profile
                        Find all posts by AmirDov
                        Add AmirDov to Your Contacts

                        #6 10-28-2008, 05:39 AM
                        Ex_Brit
                        McAfee Maniac Join Date: May 2004
                        Location: Toronto, Canada 43.7° N 79.4° W
                        Posts: 34,316



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        I've made it a point at our weekly conference call yesterday and I was told that there may be an unofficial method but the person I talked to has to wait for the AT Developer to get back to him about it.
                        I'll email him now to remind him.

                        Ex_Brit
                        View Public Profile
                        Visit Ex_Brit's homepage!
                        Find all posts by Ex_Brit
                        Add Ex_Brit to Your Contacts

                        #7 10-28-2008, 11:39 AM
                        Ex_Brit
                        McAfee Maniac Join Date: May 2004
                        Location: Toronto, Canada 43.7° N 79.4° W
                        Posts: 34,316



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        AmirDov I'm emailing you a possible solution. It is unofficial and may not work. Please tell me here in this thread if it does, however.

                        Ex_Brit
                        View Public Profile
                        Visit Ex_Brit's homepage!
                        Find all posts by Ex_Brit
                        Add Ex_Brit to Your Contacts

                        #8 10-28-2008, 11:53 PM
                        AmirDov
                        Junior Member Join Date: Oct 2008
                        Posts: 3

                        Yeah!!!!! Problem solved!!! Thank you!!!!

                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        Quote:
                        Originally Posted by Ex_Brit
                        AmirDov I'm emailing you a possible solution. It is unofficial and may not work. Please tell me here in this thread if it does, however.

                        Hi Peter,

                        The solution you emailed me worked great!!! Problem is fixed. I was able to reset my 3 First Use questions.

                        Thank you!!!

                        Amir

                        AmirDov
                        View Public Profile
                        Find all posts by AmirDov
                        Add AmirDov to Your Contacts

                        #9 10-29-2008, 05:04 AM
                        Ex_Brit
                        McAfee Maniac Join Date: May 2004
                        Location: Toronto, Canada 43.7° N 79.4° W
                        Posts: 34,316



                        --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                        Glad it helped. If anyone needs this fix it will only be provided on an individual request basis. Please post a new thread in this forum & make sure that your profile has a valid email address in it as that is how we will deliver it to you.
                        It is only for the home version of Anti-Theft.
                        • 9. RE: Heeeeeeeeeeeeelp
                          Peter M
                          I'm sorry but the last post is extremely confusing but I gather that you all need to reset the security questions.

                          I might as well post the solution,

                           

                          To reset the security questions for MAT, the user can do it – although it is not a practice I would recommend often.

                          You just need to delete two files:
                          Location: C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\McAfee Anti-Theft
                          Filenames: Recovery.* - It should be “Recovery.dat” and “Recovery.pub” (alter the drive letter if the installation is on a different drive).

                          Deleting these two files will allow the user to change the answers to the security questions. The next time the user creates a vault they will be prompted to answer the security questions again.

                          BEWARE:
                          [COLOR=Navy]Changing the security questions will not allow you to access any vaults that have already been created. Any existing vaults will prompt the user to provide the old security questions and answers.[/COLOR]

                          1 2 Previous Next