1 Reply Latest reply on Mar 18, 2009 4:15 PM by Peter M

McSecurity 9

McAfee Security Center (MSC) has become badly-coded, PARANOID, BLOATWARE to the point of absurdity!!

I have been running MSC for the past three years on 4 different machines ranging from a laptop Pentium D T2060 (1.6GHz) w/ 4 GB of memory running XP HomeEd. (at the low end) to a Quad Core Q9550 (2.83GHz) w/ 8GB of memory running XP Pro at the high end, each of which live on separate public IP addresses, behind two(2) hardware firewalls/routers and also the MSC firewall. I use MSC because it is the AV app of choice (& the only one that they support) for my ISP (Comcast). These have not been issues for me until the past 2 months, or so.
      The behaviour that I am about to describe is the same on all 4 of my machines, so it is definitely NOT computer-specific.

First, the "bloatware" part of my complaint:
      On the one hand, I am encouraged by AV software that strives to keep its DAT up to date in order to stay on top of constantly emerging threats. However, MSC has taken on the habit of checking for updates at least once per hour which, in & of itself, would not be a problem except that:
      1. It takes the McAfee website a solid 2-3 minutes to respond as to whether an update is available....
      2. If one is available, it takes another 2-3 minutes to download the update....
      3. Once downloaded, it takes yet another 2-3 minutes to finish installing the update..., and...,
      4. MOST IMPORTANTLY & ANNOYINGLY..., throughout the process of performing the tasks in steps 1-3 above, any & all other apps/functions on the subject computer are suspended and put totally "on hold" while MSC does its thing. I am NOT talking about some heavy-duty, extreme multimedia app either, sometimes it could just be typing text into "Notepad" or simply wanting to move your mouse pointer across your Desktop that remains stalled or frozen until MSC is done hogging your resources.