1 2 Previous Next 13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2009 12:03 PM by tcsenter

Update Virus Defenitions

Hi Everyone,
      I am new to McAfee just started using it and I need to further use Mcafee for my PC's ,
      Can Any one tell me that is it possible to update McAfee 2009 Virus definition if I dont have net connection in any of my other PC except one in which I have internet connections?

I have 3 PC's out of which only 1 has net connectivity , I wan to install McAfee on all 3 PC however the other two dosen't have internet, so is there any way to update their Virus definitions if I download it on one PC with net connectivity and install that Definition on other two PC's ??

Please Help me :confused:
        • 1. RE: Update Virus Defenitions
          exbrit
          That isn't possible with the home product I'm sorry. The machine(s) in question must all have Internet access. Updates occur at least once daily.
          • 2. RE: Update Virus Defenitions
            Ohh if this is not possible then what would be the best solution for this ? Could you please tell me ??
            • 3. RE: Update Virus Defenitions
              exbrit
              The only McAfee product that can be updated manually is the Enterprise (Corporate) version and you have to purchase multiple licenses for that which would be very expensive..

Your questions would be best put to a neutral security forum such as Geeks To Go or Major Geeks or Bleeping Computer, somewhere like that.
              • 4. RE: Update Virus Defenitions
                Actually, there is a way to integrate newer DAT/ENGINE updates into the Virus Scan Plus (VSP) install files, then burn back to CD so that it can be installed on a PC that may not be able to connect to the internet. Its not an easy or straight-forward way, but it can be done.