8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 6, 2010 6:37 AM by JoeBidgood

Remove existing Auto Update tasks with ePO?

Hi,

Our site has recently been forced into using our corporate ePO 3.6.1 Servers with our VirusScan 8.5 clients. Our clients have 2 existing auto update tasks and now have an additional auto update task policy from the ePO server. I've tried to create a configuration file using the McAfee Installation Designer to remove the 2 existing update tasks but the clients seem to ignore the config files.

Does anybody know of a way to remove all existing configurations using an ePO policy?
      I'm new to ePO so I'm reluctant to mess with the server too much.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Rgds,

Terry.
        • 1. RE: Remove existing Auto Update tasks with ePO?
          challiwag
          If I understand you correctly, you have moved your machines from one ePO server to another ? If that is the case, you should only have the tasks from the new ePO server, not the old one as well.
          As for the default auto update task, you can turn this off in the agent policy
          VirusScan Enterprise 8.7.0 > User Interface Policies > My Default
          Disable default AutoUpdate task schedule

if you are not saying that they moved from one ePO server to another, then all the update tasks should be listed under client task on your ePO server, so jsut delete the old ones you dont want anymore.
          • 2. Re: RE: Remove existing Auto Update tasks with ePO?

I have the same problem. There is a task stuck in on my client workstations that is not on my EPO server. The task looks like an old AutoUpdate from version 8.5. We are on 8.7i now. I have removed all the EPO tasks, forced policy updates, and all the deleted EPO tasks that were on the clients are gone accept this one. I need to get rid of it because when it runs at 5pm every day the client systems experience 100% cpu usage for about 5 minutes.