1 2 Previous Next 14 Replies Latest reply on Dec 10, 2010 1:16 PM by aga1793

Autoboot and SBAdmCl.exe

I am new to SafeBoot in the last week about and have been tapped with the job of trying to figure out if there's a way to deploy software/patches to our workstations, but not have our workstations get 'stuck' at the SafeBoot login screen, but rather proceed to the Windows login so they are all back on the network after the deployment happens.

I have been seeing a lot of talk about the SBAdmCl.exe, and have tried this method to the best of my abilities, which is what brought me to this posing. We are currently on SafeBoot v5.12 and at this point, i must say i really know enough about this product to be dangerous.

First of all, this is my understanding of the SBAdmCl.exe program:
      I can push a script to run on the workstation that basically says sbadmcl.exe -command:DisableSecurity, and then deploy my patches/software, then reboot, and upon reboot the workstation will boot normally into windows, bypassing the SafeBoot login screen...

If that is wrong, please correct me.

Next are the steps i have taken to try this:
      1. tried to run this file on a test workstation locally... I was told the program doesn't exist.
      2. Checked the SafeBoot folder under Program Files, and sure enough, there was no sbadmcl.exe file
      3. Found the file on our SafeBoot server copied to the directory on the workstation, and it said it needed SbAdmDll.dll, so i found that on the server as well.
      4. Ran the command and it errored telling me something about Policy restricted it.
      5. After more digging around, i found that i had to go to that specific computer (could've done the whole group, but wanted to test just this one computer) properites in the SafeBoot Administrator program