5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2017 4:15 AM by davei

"The McAfee Client Proxy ePO Extension is still doing some background work"

kbolt

mcp policy creation fail.JPG

I've been experiencing this page every time I try to create a new McAfee Client Proxy policy inside EPO. Why does this happen? The 10 second time period is a lie here because I've tried to refresh the page for much longer and still, no dice.

• 1. Re: "The McAfee Client Proxy ePO Extension is still doing some background work"
          tonyw

Are you a global admin in EPO?  If not, do you have the appropriate rights on the Common Catalog?

• 2. Re: "The McAfee Client Proxy ePO Extension is still doing some background work"
            kbolt

I am an admin, I'm not sure if it's global or otherwise. "Manually assigned permission sets: User is an administrator." is what I see in Users for my account. How would I check for these rights? I've been able to create MCP policies before.

• 3. Re: "The McAfee Client Proxy ePO Extension is still doing some background work"
              slizka

Hi,

Were you able to find the issue? I'm now fighting the same stuff... :-(

• 4. Re: "The McAfee Client Proxy ePO Extension is still doing some background work"
                aloksard

Hi,

It looks to be an known issue.Request you to let me know EPO and MCP version.

The issue you are facing can occur if the ePO Pending Orion Events task, which is an internal hidden task built into ePO, stops running automatically. This task should run on a regular, frequent basis, and is responsible for processing internal actions. It is used in this situation to process actions initiated by the MCP extension.

If you run the following SQL query against the ePO database, you can see the last time the task ran:

SELECT LastRunTime from OrionSchedulerTaskMT where UniqueKey = 'EPOPendingOrionEventsTask'

The date displayed should be within a minute or two of the current time.

NOTE: The time is displayed in GMT.