7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2017 7:11 AM by tomu

SIEM Device NIC Bonding

sssyyy

Network team asked me, for NIC bonding/teaming, does McAfee SIEM device uses LACP and Port Channel method.

I'm not a network engineer, does anyone here know how to best answer this question?

• 1. Re: SIEM Device NIC Bonding
          schrodinger

hello,

ESM and ERC support bonding mode 0 only. Mode can not be changed.

LACP and Port Channel are not supported.

• 2. Re: SIEM Device NIC Bonding
            rth67

This is information I got from Tier3 / Engineering back in 2014:

802.3ad (LACP) link aggregation is not supported. Bonding NICS in the UI is as simple as setting the two management interfaces to the same IP address. The NIC takes care of the rest on the back end.

Back to the here and now...

As we recently moved from connections to Catalyst Core switches over to Nexus switches, our LAN/WAN team is seeing the following errors over and over:

FWM-2-STM_LOOP_DETECT: Loops detected in the network for mac xxxxxx among ports Eth1

Disabling dynamic learn notifications for 180 seconds

FWM-2-STM_LEARNING_RE_ENABLE: Re enabling dynamic learning on all interfaces

We are going to test making a port channel with mode "on" as LACP is not supported.  If that does not work to clear the errors or doesn't break the NIC Bonding, they will open up a Cisco TAC case.

• 3. Re: SIEM Device NIC Bonding
              sssyyy

In a case of the devices have been configured already with NIC teaming and shipped to the data centres. Without remote physical access, how can I disable NIC bonding?

Can I just connect MGMT1/eth0 to a switch port, leave the MGMT2 unplugged. Should I be able to access the CLI and GUI? Once I have access to the GUI, I can disable NIC teaming.

• 4. Re: SIEM Device NIC Bonding
                rth67