1 2 Previous Next 15 Replies Latest reply on Jul 31, 2017 8:47 AM by aerialjibe

Endpoint security threat prevention for Linux ENSLTP 10.2 not running?

aerialjibe

Dear McAfee,

We have updated some clients from VSE for Linux to ENSLTP 10.2.

We have never got VSE for Linux running as supposed to. We couldn't keep systems complaint. VSE failing... updates failing...BUG's... till I stopped arguing with the Linux SupportTeam to keep trying...

Now with the new ENS10.2 platform I gave them hope and got them so far to try again. We were surprised that the installation actually worked and the product starts running without problems.

We updated some systems for Pilot.

Now we ran into the following problem: After a (scheduled) reboot the isecav product does not run anymore?

The score after 2 weeks 1 system of 10 still compliance... the rest died... That was the only system that didn't have a reboot.

I am no Linux expert myself but the Linuxguy's say that a "normal" product also provides in a correct start-up script so a product correctly starts after reboot.

I followed the guide and installed the product via ePO. I also tried removing al old SW and install on fresh systems. When I look in ePO the TP component seems to be gone after restart.

freshly installed system:

System after restart:

when I look on the system the product files seem to be there but when ask for the version I get an error or no response.

[root@nis-rd bin]# pwd

/opt/isec/ens/threatprevention/bin

[root@nis-rd bin]# ./isecav --version

Error in showing version details due to ESP communication error.

This is on a RHEL 6.8 system.

• 1. Re: Endpoint security threat prevention for Linux ENSLTP 10.2 not running?
          wouterr

Hi,

this all sounds quite troublesome... Especially as these issue's are so much looking like an issue we had with McAfee agent 4.8 + VSEL 1.9.x a couple of years ago.