9 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2009 11:33 AM by richjone

Where to see why Product Deployment task failed

I'm new to version 4 of ePO, and I'm having a hard time figuring out why my Product Deployment task didn't work. I had it setup to install the McAfee Agent and Antispyware Enterprise Module on some test computers at 5am this morning. Both things are set to install, the task is enabled, but when i look at the list of Systems, none of them show as having any info on the workstations or being managed. Is there a log somewhere i can look to see what happened when my deployment task ran at 5am?
        • 1. RE: Where to see why Product Deployment task failed
          challiwag
          you could look at the agent log on the client
          C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\McAfee\Common Framework\DB\
          agent_machine_name.log
          You should be a ble to see what the agent tried to do here.
          • 2. thanks
            thanks, looked in the log, and it didn't do anything at 5am like it was supposed to :-(

Guess my task must not be setup right or something. Not sure why, i have it set to every day at 5am, it's enabled, MA and ASEM are both set to install with no command line switches.
            • 3. RE: thanks
              challiwag
              Have a look at the ini files in this dir
              C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\McAfee\Common Framework\Task
              look inside them and try and find one with the same task name that you created, if it isnt there, the task never got to the client.
              • 4. RE: thanks
                Looks like it never got it, there's only one ini, and it says TaskType=UPDATE, which is probably the other task i have setup to update the dats, engine, and virusscan patches on the workstations. I only have two tasks setup, an update task described above, then the deployment task to (hopefully, haha) push the McAfee Agent and ASEM to all the computers.