3 Replies Latest reply on Feb 26, 2009 1:52 PM by twenden

Check in package is not available in client task

Hello...I am new to EPO and trying to test deploy VSE 8.7i to a group of test servers, here is what I have done:
      1) create a test group, add the test server's IP here.
      2) checkin the package for VSE 8.7i
      3) create client task...my problem is right here, I don't see the vSE 8.7i is available over here, but only see the VSE 8.5i (original checkin package)

My questions are:
      1) how can I make a package to be available to client task after check in.
      2) if there are different versions for the same package, how EPO control which package deploys to which group of clients?

Thanks,
      fshguo.
        • 1. RE: Check in package is not available in client task
          twenden
          Did you follow the steps for adding VSE 8.7i to EPO 4.0. It sounds like you did not add the extensions.

Below is the info.

Environment
          McAfee ePolicy Orchestrator 4.0
          McAfee VirusScan Enterprise 8.7i
          Microsoft Windows (all supported versions, see KB51109 )
          Summary
          In order to deploy and manage VirusScan Enterprise (VSE) 8.7i via ePolicy Orchestrator (ePO) 4.0, the following must be checked in:

VirusScan Enterprise 8.7i installation package (VSE870LML.zip)
          Extension (VIRUSCAN8700.zip)
          Reporting extension (VIRUSCANREPORTS.zip)

Although the downloaded VirusScan Enterprise package (VSE870LML.zip) contains the required extensions (listed above) for ePO 4.0, checking in the package (VSE870LML.zip) does not update the extension entries automatically. This requires a separate actions to be taken, which may be overlooked since the package contains these extensions.
          Solution
          Step 1 - Check the VSE 8.7i installation package into the Master Repository:

See KB51418 for information on checking in the VSE 8.7i installation package (VSE870LML.zip) into the Master Repository.