1 2 Previous Next 10 Replies Latest reply on May 12, 2009 1:51 AM by Pitch

VSE 8.5 update to 8.7

Hello all,
      I am new to McAfee and (of course) new here. Very good site, A LOT OF HELP… your experience is huge and thanks for sharing it.
      My status: I have a small network with McAfee 8.5 and ePO 4.0 in place. Everything is stable and nice. It is requested to update all the clients to VSE 8.7 (for now, only two clients have 8.7) from 8.5.
      I found all the procedures; I have manually checked the VSE 8.7 installation package in the Master Repository; I have created the task to deploy VSE 8.7 – so everything is ready.
      My question is: do I have to remove first (uninstall) VSE 8.5 before installing VSE 8.7? :confused:
      It is ok to install the last one over the previous? And if I have to uninstall 8.5 do I have to do it using ePO as well?
      I am ready to do this, but I don’t know witch is the best way to follow . Any advice is well appreciated. Thanks.

PS. I hope my post it is not misplaced. If so, I apology and you can move it in the appropriate section.
        • 1. RE: VSE 8.5 update to 8.7
          brentil
          I've done it both ways with no issues. In general we just push out the update and 8.7 upgrades on top of 8.5 keeping all your previous settings.

However watch out for this issue if you're using Outlook. When your users start up Outlook it throws an error about not being able to find the scan dll. I've had it happen on 90% of our machines we've upgraded. The solution can be found in the KB57977 article.
          • 2. RE: VSE 8.5 update to 8.7
            Thanks a lot for your fast answer. I will try to deploy the update in the next two days, and I will share my experience (of any kind).
            • 3. RE: VSE 8.5 update to 8.7
              Laszlo G