Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
feblex
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 11 of 23

Re: ePO 4.6.2 - From 2003 32bits to 2008 R2 64bits

Is there anyone here with experience on this?

I'm no expert, but I use it all the time to transfer machines back and forth between test and production.

Basically after you create an entirely separate install of ePO:

1. On the old ePO server go to Configuration / Server Settings / Security Keys and press the edit button on the bottom right.
  2. Select the 2048 bit key and export it to disk. Repeat for the 1024 bit key.
  3. On the new ePO server import the 2 keys you just exported. This will allow the agents from the old ePO server to communicate with the new ePO server.
  4. On the old ePO server go to Configuration / Registered Servers and select new.
  5. Select ePO for the server type.
  6. After entering the approprate information use the Test Connection button to verify everything is correctly entered.
  7. Set your Policy Sharing and Client Task Sharing to your preference
  8. Set Transfer Systems to Enabled with Automatic Sitelist Import

You will see a warning about "To successfully transfer a system you must first import the agent-server key the system uses into the remote server." You can ignore this as that is what we did in steps 1 - 3.

You should now be able to use the transfer systems function to move the system(s) from the old ePO server to the new ePO sever. In my case I set it up in both directions and can move machines at will between my test and production severs.  Remember it takes a couple of agent to server communication intervals for the transfer to occur.

Hope this helps

-Dave

Did the documentation ever get published on how to do this correctly?

alexn
Level 14
Message 14 of 23

gbays
Level 7
Message 15 of 23