Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
CBoe
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 9

Question about Evaluation Branch in Master Repository

Hi,

I just checked in the VSE 8.8 package into our Master Repository in ePO 4.5.  It was recommended that I checked it in to the Evaluation branch and not the current branch until I'm ready to roll it out to everyone.  Can someone explain to my what the real difference is between Evaluation and Current?  I haven't been able to really find anything that explains the differences.  When I set it to Current, will that really change much?  I'm fairly new to using ePO so I'm still trying to learn more about it.

Thanks!

8 Replies
bakerrl
Level 11
Message 2 of 9

Re: Question about Evaluation Branch in Master Repository

CBoe
Level 7
Message 3 of 9

Thank you for the reply.  I did read that information and it helps a little.  I'm still just a little confused as to what the evaluation branch does not do that the current branch does.  If I were to check the VSE 8.8 in as the current branch and only push it out to a few systems, how would that be any different?  Does the evaluation branch not allow for updates or something?

bakerrl
Level 11
Message 4 of 9

No difference really other than the fact that if you put the product in the Current Branch you could inadvertenlty deploy to all your machines before you wanted.  Some companies have a Test Group of machines and they use the Eval Branch for testing of dats and deploying of products in a more controlled manner.

Someone else my have a better answer.

CBoe
Level 7
Message 5 of 9

So the Evaluation Branch doesn't allow it to go out to everyone?