cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to remove existing software and Deploy VirusScan Enterprise 8.8

Hi all

I am new to ePO 4.5. I installed it on windows server 2003 and sync with active directory. Then I added package in Master Repository and replicate with Distributed Repositories. then I created client task in system tree to deploy Mcafee Agent 4 and it installed on client systems (Window XP and 7). So It became mannaged system now. After that I created another task in client task to deploy VirusScan Enterprise 8.8. I checked log says successfull but It did not installed VirusScan in client system.

Could someone let me know that how can i deploy Packages from ePO.

We have to switch Trend Micro to Mcafee. I want to remove Trend Micro client from 150 computers and install VirusScan and anti spam etc. But I have no idea about it. I just came across this software 2 days ago.

Thanks

8 Replies

Re: How to remove existing software and Deploy VirusScan Enterprise 8.8

Have you tried to check on  force policies when you send the wakeup call to the clients. I see some times an issue with HIPS compnent being enabled causing an issue I will suggest disabling the HIPS firewall during the deployment and then run the task

task.

Also look at the firewall log using the Mcafee icon to monitor the communication to the ePO server

Message was edited by: allamiro on 3/16/11 9:08:28 PM CDT

in the deployment task that you have created, add another option to deploy vse 8.8, and wakeup all clients

Hi,

When VSE is deployed , it automatically removes the competitor product. Below article refers to ePO 4.0 and VSE 8.7, but the procedure remails same for VSE 8.8 also for ePO 4.5.

you can refer.

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB53916&actp=search&viewlocale=en_US&searchid=...

Srini.

Perhaps you can review some of the Video Tutorials on the McAfee Service Portal:

https://mysupport.mcafee.com/Eservice/Default.aspx