cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How does my computer get Updates from EPO?

Jump to solution

Hi everyone....I'm confused. Can someone explain to me the difference between

1. Client Task Catalog --> Product Update --> Update Task

task.png

2. Updates tab under General McAfee Agent Policy

agent policy.png

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: How does my computer get Updates from EPO?

Jump to solution

Hi clicnam,

I'm no expert but my understanding is as follows.  If i'm wrong i'm sure someone will correct me.

The agent policy (number 2 in your list) defines what the agent is 'allowed' to update and which branch to pull the updates from.

The Task (number 1 in your list) defines what will actually be updated by the task.

For example, if everything is ticked in the agent but there is no task then it won't be updated.  Likewise, a task to do an update won't happen if that isn't allowed (i.e. ticked) in the agent.

This allows you to have different update tasks for different products at different frequencies (for example, you might want a task to do DAT updates run more frequently than a service pack update).  Also, you can use the branch option in the agent policy to do updates to Evaluation versions of software and then apply that agent policy to a group of test machines.

Hope that helps

3 Replies
Highlighted

Jump to solution

Hi clicnam,

I'm no expert but my understanding is as follows.  If i'm wrong i'm sure someone will correct me.

The agent policy (number 2 in your list) defines what the agent is 'allowed' to update and which branch to pull the updates from.

The Task (number 1 in your list) defines what will actually be updated by the task.

For example, if everything is ticked in the agent but there is no task then it won't be updated.  Likewise, a task to do an update won't happen if that isn't allowed (i.e. ticked) in the agent.