cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Download McAfee components from Internal Infrastructure

Jump to solution

I am a Linux Admin and I am struggling to ask my ePO admins the right questions.  Please help.

Our team currently manually updates \\someserver\somepath\mcafee\Linux\Agent-5.5.  Dealing with windows shares in our infrastructure is ... difficult.  So I would really like to download the McAfee components from "ePO" directly.

By looking at http://update.nai.com/products/ and taking apart install.sh and looking at SiteList.xml I started looking at http://agent-handler:8333/Software/. Directory listings are forbidden but every directory seems to have a Replica.log file.  So I was able to poke around and was able to find McAfee products at http://<agent_handler>:8333/Software/<repo>/<software>/Install/0409/, where <repo> is Current, Evaluation or Previous.

More poking around I found that the name of the ePO agent for Linux seems to be called "EPOAGENT3700LYNX" (which is weird,  5.5==3700?  and Linx == Lynx?, but whatever).

We have 2 agent handlers and one "QA" agent handler that the ePO team uses for testing and such.

EPOAGENT3700LYNX seems to be on the "QA" agent handler only and not on the main agent handlers.

I am struggling with what to ask my ePO admin team for as I do not know the terminology.  What do I ask my ePO team to do to put EPOAGENT3700LYNX on the production agent handlers?

Is this the right place for me to retrieve the ePO agent files?  Should I be requesting them from a "Repository server?" because it seems to me "repository" is for virus def updates and I have not yet been able to gleen anything from https://<reposerver>.mycompany.com/ as directory listing there is also denied.

Thanks,

-Alan

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
McAfee Employee cdinet
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 6

Re: Download McAfee components from Internal Infrastructure

Jump to solution