cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Cannot connect ePO server with agent

Please forgive me if some of my questions may seem very basic, but i am new to ePO server and not overly familar with it.

I have a newly installed server (ver 4.5) and I cannot connect the server to my McAfee Agent.

After install I could synchronize my server with the active directory in the System Tree. But I have been totally unsuccessful in pushing out agents from the server. I downloaded the agent and installed it manually on the systems, but they still do not talk to the server.  Also I cannot ping the workstations from the system tree. The systems are all in DNS and I can ping them from the computer itself.

I am not sure what logs I should look at too see what is wrong. Any links or suggestions are welcomed,

Thanks

4 Replies
notime
Level 10
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 5

Re: Cannot connect ePO server with agent

check McAfee ports if they are opened and the local firwall if its On

Does anyone have any other infomration on this? I have no firewalls active and have the exact same issue. I am deployed on Vsphere 3.5 running windows 2008. I am attempting to deploy the agent to an XP workstation I have set up with no success. I have also deployed the agent manually tot he workstation and it cannot communicate back to the ePO server. This is the first time I am deploying the agent as this is a brand new ePO setup.I can ping from the server to the workstation and vice versa.

Hi tycoon44, try to open a telnet connection from a computer to your epo server using the agent-to-server port

For example telnet your_epo_server 80 from the cmd command. If you get an error the na firewall is blocking agent-to-serer port and your computers will never talk to epo server