cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2 EPO Servers

Question chaps

Is it possible to have a second EPO server

I currently run one on the domain on as a hadware server

I wish to create a second one, upgrading the version in the process, with a clean new database, this one will be virtual at a different site

I do not want an immediate switch over but to transfer site by site from old to new, (40 different sites)

At no point would I be able to have any downtime 

I am pretty new to EPO so any help would be gratefully received

Cheers

Campo

9 Replies
McAfee Employee cdinet
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 10

Re: 2 EPO Servers

Yes, you can run as many epo servers as desired to keep networks or other grouping segregated.  Depending on the number of clients the virtual server will be servicing, please check the best practices guide for some guidelines on using VM's for epo - PD26432

Many thanks

I will be pushing 4000 clients over a period of time to the new VM EPO

McAfee Employee cdinet
McAfee Employee
Message 4 of 10

That should be no problem.  Just be sure to allocate enough resources.  ePO requires a minimum of 8g ram, but that is available ram.  Depending on if sql will be on the same server or different (highly recommend different), and the products you are using, memory, or rather lack of it, could potentially be a problem.  I would recommend a minimum of 24-32G ram for that many clients.  If sql is going to be on the same box, there are some other considerations regarding memory.

Many thanks

I will have the SQL on a seperate VM on the same piece of tin

mattw2
Level 10
Message 6 of 10

the actual migrating of Agents from "old" server to "new" server, you would be wise to consider the Transfer System that ePO has.

This involves linking your two servers, which then allows you to select computers to transfer to the other server.