cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scheduled Client Tasks Failing to Run

I am new to the ePO administrator realm and I am in need of some help.   I am trying to set up scheduled ODS scans on our systems.  My environment is a mixture of Win 10 workstations, Windows Server 2016 and legacy Windows 2008 R2 servers.  We are able to get scheduled tasks to our 2008R2 servers but it seems that the Win 10 and Server 2016 are not even pulling the tasks that are assigned to them.  I have been using 1 workstation and 1 server 2016 and 1 server 2008R2 as testers.  We realized that we were not able to do any scans with VSE because our patch was too old in the repository and that has been updated.  But it seems that an over arching problem is that the agents do not seem to be pulling the assigned tasks from ePO so nothing happens at the time that those scans are run.  I have tried scheduling tasks for both agent wake-up and ODS but neither seems to invoke anything in the logs on the agents on the server and workstation.  I have looked for the .ini files that are created for scheduled tasks on the clients and nothing shows up and no registry entry is present other than the default.  I can take the same tasks and use "Run client task now" and it runs just fine but if it is a scheduled task it will not run.  Any help will be greatly appreciated.

We are using:

ePO 5.1.1 (yes I know its out date, upgrade is in the works)

VSE 8.8 P11 (both in ePO repo and on clients)

MA 5.0.6

6 Replies
YashT
McAfee Employee
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 7

Re: Scheduled Client Tasks Failing to Run

Hello @Aggie08185,

It seems that VSE 8.8 patch 11 is only supported till w10 1803 , later version will not work with patch 11, this can be found in KB51111.

Regarding schedule task is not invoking :

check the VSE product guide , from which you will be able to know how if the schedule task is configured properly.