Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
BlueHerron
Level 8
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 25

SELinux denying McAfee Agent

I have RHEL 7 with SELinux and am trying to get the McAfee Agent 5.7.3 to work with SELinux.  Something is being denied, but I cannot figure out where.  I have used ausearch - a avc to identify the apps that are being blocked and I feel like I have created policies based on the info given from that, but I am new at selinux and policies, so I may be doing something wrong.  I do know that when I put selinux in permissive, everything works fine (cmdagent, MEDDAT updates).  When it is enforcing, and I try to run the cmdagent from the terminal, it gives a "bash: /var/McAfee/agent/bin/cmdagent permission denied" message.   I have the selinux packages for the agent and ENS installed on my system and everything is at the latest versions.  Any information would be appreciated.

24 Replies
aguevara
McAfee Employee
McAfee Employee
Message 2 of 25

Re: SELinux denying McAfee Agent

what is it denied? is it an application installed on that box? if thats the case then we need to isolate the problem to a product, if you disable/uninstall ENSL does the problem persist?

you dont normally need sudo when running "/var/McAfee/agent/bin/cmdagent - p"  (adding a switch as an example) but could you try:

sudo /var/McAfee/agent/bin/cmdagent -p

Was my reply helpful?
If this information was helpful in any way or answered your question, will you please select Accept as Solution in my reply and together we can help other members?

BlueHerron
Level 8
Message 3 of 25