Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Reliable Contributor
Reliable Contributor
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 21

Can't Deploy Agents in a Workgroup - no errors - nothing happens

Jump to solution

total newb here, I have a small Microsoft Windows lab with a 2019 server with SQL 2019 and ePO 5.10.0 on it, I am trying to push the 5.5.1.342 agents to my test workstations via the System Tree and I am getting no feedback or I just don't know where to look, 

the ePO console is completely unintuitive and the System Tree just has one line item with my machine name there and a State of Unmanaged when I click it to see more details there is nothing there, no event log or status or error of any kind, the Agent Deployment tab is blank???

I saw Brian Desmond's blog https://blogs.msmvps.com/briandesmond/2009/07/13/mcafee-epo-agent-deployment-logs/?unapproved=21&mod... where he says look at the %ProgramFiles%\McAfee\ePolicy Orchestrator\db\Logs and open server.log but there is nothing there from today when I pushed the deployment

I saw a video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=swn4Yr381xo&t=143s where a guy says look at the Task Manager on the client and look for a process called  FrmInst.exe but I never see it

I also checked the System and Application event logs on the client machine and see nothing there

I saw these two McAfee KB articles but they don't seem related, these are for once the Agent is installed:

How to troubleshoot an Endpoint Security installation failure

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB87589

Minimum data collection steps for Endpoint Security issues https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB86691

so that leaves me with this article

Push Agent Installation Program to 'computer name' Fail! (when deploying the McAfee Agent)

https://kc.mcafee.com/corporate/index?page=content&id=KB56386&_ga=2.123854793.2133665403.1585088438-...