Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Travler
Level 10
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 3

pac file entry not working

We've used MWG with a pac file for over a decade.  (The pac file was created by the McAfee engineer who was onsite performing the original installation of the MWG.)  Over the years, I've only needed to add a handful of entries for problem websites, which have always worked fine after making the necessary additions.  Although I'm not a programmer, I suspect that with the file being less than 50 lines long, it is about as nice and clean as possible.   We push the browser's Automatic Proxy Setup setting, including the location of the Script Address which points to the pac file stored on our MWG, via GPO.  Manual Proxy Settings are turned off.

We now need to access a website that implements a connection to trayapp.smartcorp.net.  An nslookup of this URL returns the localhost IP of 127.0.0.1.   This is correct and by design.  If I uncheck the pac file settings the site works fine, but with the pac file settings checked the website will not connect correctly to the trayapp component.  Furthermore, if I uncheck the pac file and then check the Manual Proxy Settings and point it to the MWG, it still does not connect.  However, if I uncheck the pac file, check the Manual settings AND put trayapp.smartcorp.net in the exclusion box, the site works fine.

I've worked with support on this and they determined that the behavior described above indicates the problem is not with the MWG but with the pac file.   We've attempted quite a few different iterations of adding trayapp.smartcorp.net to the pac file, but to no avail:

shExpMatch(host,"*trayapp.smartcorp.net") ||

shExpMatch(host,"*.smartcorp.net") ||

dnsDomainIs(host,"*trayapp.smartcorp.net") ||

isInNet(hostip, "127.0.0.1", 255.255.255.255") ||

etc. etc.  (as you can see, I was getting a bit desperate in my attempts there.)