cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Web Gateway question

Jump to solution

I am new to the web gateway, I have been tasked with migrating our current physical web gateway to a virtual one on hyper-V.  I have not had much luck with my google-fu today (guess I might not be asking the right questions)

so we would like to migrate our current version from 7.6.2.13.0 to 7.8.0.2 (or the recommended virtual appliance for Hyper-v)

I assume we could build the new VM set the IP's of the nic's the same as the original one then we can do a backup of the original gateway power down/disconnect the original gateway from the network.  then connect the new virtual gateway to the network same IP's then restore the backup file.

I guess my concerns would be if i could just restore a 7.6.x backup to a newer version gateway without any issues?  I would also like to know if there are possibly any good guides around for the migration i am trying to attempt?

Any information would be greatly appreciated

Thanks in advance.

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
McAfee Employee jscholte
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 2 of 9

Re: Web Gateway question

Jump to solution

Hi Rafaela,

To setup MWG on Hyper-V check out this article: McAfee KB - How to set up Web Gateway on a Hyper-V virtual platform  and most installation guides include it as well: McAfee KB - Web Gateway 7.7.0 Installation Guide

What you described is what you'd want to do. I'd suggest just getting the Hyper-V instance up and running on its own IP first, then you can restore the policy-only backup onto the virtual instance, then test and verify its functioning as the old instance was.

After all is verified update the IP in the virtual instance and perhaps just change the IP or remove the network cable on the physical appliance (whichever is easier).

There should be no issues restoring a 7.6 backup on a 7.8 node as MWG7 is always backwards compatible.

Best Regards,

Jon

8 Replies