cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
uffdawoman
Level 7

Why are my itunes settings disappearing?

I've just read the forums on this problem but want to add my two cents.  I am NOT a techie and I'm using XP on an old Dell for Pete's sake, but the last update I did to Itunes started this mess for me.  I did another new update to both itunes and McAffee today but it doesn't seem to help.  I hope something comes soon, but I just want McAffee to know that if I am going to drop something that is a part of this problem it will be them.  If an old lady like me can see that they can't fix problems like this, well..........

7 Replies
exbrit
Level 21

Re: Why are my itunes settings disappearing?

This is  an old and intermittent issue caused by real-time scanning deleting itunesprefs.xml because we think it may be due to Apple is using questionable coding or some process taking too long to complete.  The file stores your preferences.  A quick fix is to temporarily disable real-time scanning when closing iTunes.   It also isn't just McAfee that is doing this, AVG and Symantec, amongst others, were also involved originally.

There's a long thread about it here already:  https://community.mcafee.com/thread/58410?start=0&tstart=0 - it was fixed once but seems to be broken again.

I am stirring the pot to see what can be done, but it seems from an even longer thread at Apple Forums that they aren't acting on it despite several of us having filed bug reports so we shall have to wait and see if McAfee can fix it once again.

on 01/12/13 10:33:53 EST AM
0 Kudos
uffdawoman
Level 7