cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
smb2782
Level 7

VirusScan stopping at 99%

I have a problem with VirusScan stopping at 99% and failing to complete a scan. I am using the workaround TS102052 but have to apply it on each full on-demand scan (the type of scan I use most). This is not ideal, it should be possible to run a scan without having to go through other procedures and this is a long-standing issue, I have been using the patch since May and had the problem for 6 months or so before that!

As this is a known issue, is there a permanent solution on the way maybe in the 2015 release?

I am running a Windows 7 64 bit PC

Anti Virus & Spyware Version 17.6

Build 17.6.394

Last update 9/11/14

Engine version 2067.0

Engine creation date 8/11/14

Have performed various reinstalls for Internet Security 2013 & 2014, hardware has been checked with a Dell diagnostic utility and Virtual Technician has been run, everything seems fine and is up to date.

Not particularly happy, can you help please?

Thanks

0 Kudos
15 Replies
exbrit
Level 21

Re: VirusScan stopping at 99%

Assuming Windows 7 SP1 make sure that IE11 is installed, even if you never use it, the McAfee GUI does.

I would open a case with Technical Support if that TS hasn't helped permanently.   Link below.   Ask for escalation if their first attempt is not successful.

Toronto ▪ Canada
Volunteer Moderator - Consumer Products
I CAN'T HELP PRIVATELY - PLEASE POST IN THE FORUMS
Use Advanced Search To Find Answers

Consumer Technical Support (alter Country @ top right as needed)

Consumer Customer Service (Accounts, Billing, Registration, etc.)
Anti-Spyware/Malware/Hijacker Tools

0 Kudos
smb2782
Level 7

Thanks for reply, will do some checks but sure I'm running IE11.

Is the TS supposed to be a one-off fix or is it supposed to be applied to each scan? I've seen other posts asking the same question but haven't managed to find an answer!