cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mun112233
Level 7

Should i delete my quarantined files?

Hi everyone. Im posting because i had a scheduled scan which found a PUP. The PUP is called CryptDomalQ. It says it has affected 5 files. I dont know what it is, i wanted to delete it but then saw that one of the affected files is Registry Key and two other files are SYSTEM files. The system files say SYSTEM/CurrentControlSet/Control/SafeBoot/AlternateShell. So i was worried if i delete these files i may not be able to boot up or have some serious problems.  I have quarantined it for now but im a worrier and i would prefer to delete it so that i know it wont cause any problems in the future.

Sorry if this isnt the correct place to post im new to this and wasnt sure what to do.

Thank you

0 Kudos
25 Replies
Peacekeeper
Level 20

Re: Should i delete my quarantined files?

Asking one who knows more re this

0 Kudos
Peacekeeper
Level 20

What system files are infected

0 Kudos
mun112233
Level 7

Hi Thankyou for the fast reply.

Last night i turned my laptop off and then on after which the quarantined file is greyed out so i cant click on it to see the files infected and i cant delete it either. The registry file just simply said Registry Key. One of the system file names i mentioned in my original post, the second one i believe was the same but with a few more words to it.

I think theres something wrong with laptop it seems a bit unstable and i had a BSOD 2 days ago. So i think i may need to refresh it and hope that this matter resolves. Although this has nothing to do with McAfee i was wondering if i did refresh in windows 8 will there be a problem if system files are infected or should it still manage to reverse this.

Thank you so much for your help.

0 Kudos
catdaddy
Level 20