Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MarcVogl
Level 7
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 51 of 84

Re: problem after upgrading VSE8.8 to patch 4

I am realy looking forward to other Security Products if we will be looking to renew our licence next time in 2 Years.. until then i am looking how Intel will bring the security software on a higher level. And if there will be no big step in to a better usability - Mcafee will be no longer used.

Where can I disable BUP in EPO 5? I am new to EPO..

MarcVogl
Level 7
Message 53 of 84

Open your Browser,

Open the Epo console,

-> Navigate Systemtree

-> Click on what part of the tree you want to change the rules

-> on the right u will see System | Client Rules | Client Task | Group ...

(sorry perhaps the name is different got german Epo)

-> Go to Client Rules and choose the Product Virus Scan Enterprice

here you will find:  Rules for Buffer Overflow Protection

-> If you have the Default Setting be carefull, if you just want to change only one Part of your strukture

it is important to break the rule, make a 2nd & rename it too perhaps BOP_OFF. Save it change it to

BOP_OFF and go into it. 

You can Enable/Disable Bop, change from warning mode to save mode.

You can Enable/Disable the dialog box that appears if something is blocked  (if its out the problem

is still there! But your telefon will be much much MUCH more quiet)

AND you can make exeptions by Process | Module or / And API - the problem is if the BOP logs not enogh data

to get a clean answer... like BOP > SVCHOST.EXE - Module: unknown Prozess: unknown API: unknown blablabbla..

.. you will have a BIG Problem to disable the EXACT Process Programm or what ever.

The better way is to change the Suite to Kaspersky - perhaps if mcafee loose all companys they learn the lesson.

thanks MarcVogl.

I have edited my rule and disabled the BOP.

I then updated all my clients with the policy update check enabled.