cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem Installing Windows Updates

Jump to solution

Hi all, its my firts time posting here, im a new epo admin, and i have the following problem:

When i try to install some windows updates in my clients, (windows xp sp3), it give me some error, when i check my logs, i found the following:

8/19/2010    3:38:39 PM    Blocked by Access Protection rule     NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM    f:\1426dd23b9109cde18bc1989bb\update\wdssetup.exe    \REGISTRY\MACHINE\Software\Classes\.ascx\PersistentHandler    Anti-virus Maximum Protection:Prevent alteration of all file extension registrations    Action blocked : Write

I have tried dissabling the following rules:  Anti-virus Maximum Protection:Prevent alteration of all file extension registrations.

Prevent Windows Process spoofing.

But i can't install the updates, i'm trying to deploy WSUS.

Sorry for my bad english, and thanks for the asistance.

Greetings,

Amaury M.

Dominican Republic.

epo 4.0 and vsf 8.7i

1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: Problem Installing Windows Updates

Jump to solution

Hidarkvicoamao ,

This can be easily solved.

Please go to to the McAfee Access Protection Properties.

The 3rd option. which is the Antivirus Standard Protection, The 1st option :- Prevent Registry editor and task manager from being disabled'. Now this gets very aggressive. This features just doesnt allow any changes to be made to the Registry Editor.

Please uncheck it and everything should work fine.

Thank you

Sameer

View solution in original post

7 Replies

Jump to solution

I'm still working with this problem, i'm doing some researchs, i let you know for some new info.

Jump to solution

Well i go to close this discussion, i see nobody know how to help or dont wanna.

But i will try until success in the solution of this problem.

Well thanks in advance.

apoling
Level 14
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 4 of 8

Jump to solution

Hello,