Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Biggie
Level 8
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 1 of 7

Deploying McAfee VSE 8.8 in a standalone "unmanaged" mode "Perpetual license"

Hi All, Ok i'm new to McAfee world. But I'm trying to understand how does VSE report back it's license. When it's installed in unmanged "standalone". And I'm sorry I'm just assuming, based off my experiences with other AV software. But this is my best guess on how it works. Once VSE 8.8 endpoint is installed VSE searches and reports to the mange server. Now because it's unmanged the end point is not pulling any policy or updates down from the manged server. All that would need to be setup direct on the end point. But still reports as a unmanaged endpoint but counting the end point as licensed since the endpoint is visable to the mange server. My question being, is this how it works? of not?  what parts did i get wrong?  Hopefully this makes sense.

6 Replies
McAfee Employee jess_arman
McAfee Employee
Message 2 of 7

Re: Deploying McAfee VSE 8.8 in a standalone "unmanaged" mode "Perpetual license&quot

@Biggie When a system is unamanged, it still has a McAfee Agent in order to allow for invocation of locally scheduled tasks, as well as receiving DAT updates from McAfee servers/repositories. Simple explanation; the licensing is validated through the unmanaged Agent + communication with our servers where it is inherently told to receive its updates.

Hopefully this clears things up.

Was my reply helpful?

If this information was helpful in any way, or answered your question, will you please select "Accept as Solution" in my reply, or give kudos as appropriate, so together we can help other members?

Biggie
Level 8
Message 3 of 7

Re: Deploying McAfee VSE 8.8 in a standalone "unmanaged" mode "Perpetual license&