cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Re: LiveSafe Feedback

Jump to solution

I have had this behavior happen to me multiple times, on multiple computers.  I have quite a few computers in my home, some laptop and some desktop.  I don't turn some of them off, so my problem of having McAfee start a scan after being powered on does not apply routinely to most of my computers.

As a programmer myself, I understand the concept of an interrupt and how it can be used to stop a process and either terminate it or allow the CPU to work on another task.  I also know that it is possible for one to program a process such that it does not respond to interrupts, or does not respond very often, as a strategy to allow the process to advance with as little interruption as possible.

However, it seems to me that when you program a "cancel" button into your application, and a cancellation does not materially affect the operation of your application (eg. you have a process to count from 1 to 1000...who cares if you stop it in mid-process?), I expect a cancel button to respond immediately.

McAfee Employee tromine
McAfee Employee
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 12 of 17

Jump to solution

Good feedback, Dr Tech - 

I'll raise this with the Development team.  1) Cancel should be responsive.  2) Catch-up scans after a period of being turned off.  This last one is a bit more sensitive...and need to think about what the appropriate behavior should be.  Thanks!

Product Manager, McAfee Consumer Software
BorisV
Level 8
Message 13 of 17

Jump to solution
I can suggest a behaviour.
1. Modify the tray icon to add the blue “i”.

2. Display a notification saying “Hey, we couldn’t scan your system as scheduled, because your computer was not on. Would you like us to scan now and make sure you are good to go?
You can also leave automatic scan check files as you use them.”
Buttons should be “Scan Now” and “Remind me in”
Remind me in can include various options + “Never”