cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
mjfichera
Level 7

Real Time Scanning drops off / corrupt DAT files

Jump to solution

I'm using Security Center Ver 11.6 Build 11.6.443 on a Vista (Ultimate Edition) PC. Real Time Scanning keeps shutting Off.

Logged in as an administrator, I keep turning it back on but it's no use.  When I try to run a Quick Scan, it freezes at about 12% to 15% completed, and then says, "An Error Has Occurred - An unexpected problem occurred during your scan."

I ran Virtual Technician, which fixed 2 of the 4 problems. The log says:

Service: mcshield "C:\Program Files\Common Files\McAfee\SystemCore\\mcshield.exe"

Top Issues: DetectRealTimeScanningOffIssue

In the MVTHealthCheck log:

1 Top Issue

Top Issue: DetectRealTimeScanningOffIssue

Top Issue: Corrupt DAT issue

Suggestions? Should I reinstall? I think the original file I installed was dated 2/13/2007 (sasetup.exe), and I've just been getting updates since then.

Thanks!

Mike

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Peacekeeper
Level 20

Re: Real Time Scanning drops off / corrupt DAT files

Jump to solution

Yes use the US or Au servers to install and you will get the latest 12.1 version provided you bought the mcafee product from Mcafee or a store. Partner's versions (dell or supplied by your ISP) will stay at 11.6 but even that might be a good idea as 5 years of updating probably warrants a clean reinstall.

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS101331

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Peacekeeper
Level 20

Jump to solution

Yes use the US or Au servers to install and you will get the latest 12.1 version provided you bought the mcafee product from Mcafee or a store. Partner's versions (dell or supplied by your ISP) will stay at 11.6 but even that might be a good idea as 5 years of updating probably warrants a clean reinstall.

http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?lc=1033&id=TS101331

0 Kudos
bolter
Level 7

Jump to solution