cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Internet Security 2008 OEM Activation / Registration problems

Hi,

I am a computer technician, and recentley (in the last few months) I have had difficulty registering / activating Internet Security 2008 OEM. When entering the users details and clicking next, the activation process attempts to start, the progress bar moves back and forth across the screen and then returns an error. I dont recall exactly what the error states but can contact one of my clients if required. The error basically states that the process can not be completed at that time, and to try again later.

For some clients, I was able to create an account on the mcafee website, then log in sucsesfully for activation. For some clients, this doesn't work.

Does anyone have a solution to this, I have about 5 clients who are still suffering from this issue, and with 30 days, they will no longer be able to update their definitions etc. Does this have anything to do with updating at the time of install rather than installing from CD, activating, then updating? as I see parts of the new product are begining to be installed.

Thanks for any help. I am a bit reluctanct to continue installing McAfee at the moment on clients computers because of this problem.

Kind Regards
-Neil Young
3 Replies

RE: Internet Security 2008 OEM Activation / Registration problems

This is normally an access error.
Try pinging download.mcafee.com - If you are not able to - Edit the hosts file..

Sorry for the delay in responding. These are brand new computers. The hosts file is clean. The machines are clean, no viruses / malware etc. I have found recently that creating an account via the McAfee website and then logging in when activating works eventually. I'm hoping that McAfee Internet Security 2009 has this issue resolved.

Does anyone have any further ideas? I still have several 2008 OEM discs to ship with my computers ...

Many thanks
-Neil

Try this