Report Inappropriate Content
Message 3 of 22

Re: SIEM implementation book

Try this:

Also this:

Scott

thanks Scott.. for the links..

I am totally new to SIEM and my current scenario is ... vendor has implemented the SIEM and i am floaded wth the logs .. now i am confused .. what to do with those log... what type of report should i creat for management and how to find the suspicious activities...

i hope you got my condition .... please guide..

Thanks

Girish

ksudki
Level 10
Message 5 of 22

Hi,

I strongly suggest you take a look at this one (you have to fill your name to download it)

http://www.accelops.com/learn/learn-detail/?detail=2896-Top_10_SIEM_Implementer_Checklist.html

Regards

Hey Scott,

I am not getting the difference between McAfee ESM and McAfee SIEM. either this two are different or same?

and one more thing i was found some different (High) prerequisite for McAfee SIEM for VMWARE ESXI environment as compare to PHYSICAL ENVIRONMENT .  why?

Thanks,

staschler
Level 13
Message 7 of 22

Yes, we sometimes are sloppy in our terminology.  We often use "ESM" and "SIEM" interchangeably.  "ESM" refers to our entire SIEM solution, and is also the name of the central component of the SIEM architecture. 

As for your other question, on virtual hardware requirements, I'm not clear on what you're asking.  Can you elaborate?

Scott

Hi Scott,

May I know the actual software and hardware requirement of McAfee ESM ?

I was checked it on google. I was found that for Vmware, Siem required 8-core processor,8 gb ram,250 hdd.

And somewhere for physical environment i was found the normal dual-core processor,1.5 gb ram,20 hdd.

So please let me know the exact prerequisite of McAfee SIEM at Vmware environment or Physical environment.

Thanks in advance please revert.

Thanks,

dharmaraj.

aszotek
Level 10
Message 9 of 22

Please check installation guide:

https://kc.mcafee.com/resources/sites/MCAFEE/content/live/PRODUCT_DOCUMENTATION/25000/PD25225/en_US/...