cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any way to harden more the firewall security - getting a lot of risky ip blocks?

Hi, Is there any way to harden more the firewall security from McAfee Internet Security? because I'm getting a lot of risky IP blocks from the firewall (1000+ IP Blocks within 3 days with PC shutdown half the time)?

firewall.png

firewall2.png

7 Replies

Re: Any way to harden more the firewall security - getting a lot of risky ip blocks?

I'm not a forum expert, but from what you are seeing the McAfee firewall seems to be doing its job by blocking those connections, that's exactly what it needs to do!

If you still feel at risk, you can go into firewall setting, select "Traffic Controller" and instead of the default of "Smart Access" you might choose "Stealth".

However, be aware that you may get prompted to make complex decisions by the firewall because it is handing over some of the control to you, so you need to be experienced...otherwise, simply leave it on "Smart Access" and it makes all the decisions for you, that's the setting that I use.

Another option is to go into firewall settings, and this time choose "Intrusion Detection", and then enable the "Basic" recommended option. This can give you greater protection.

BorisV
Level 8
Report Inappropriate Content
Message 3 of 8

Re: Any way to harden more the firewall security - getting a lot of risky ip blocks?

There is a way indeed. 

1. From traffic controller choose stealth mode.

2. From My Network Connections find the name of the network you are connected to and set it public. 

3. On Intrusion Prevention, turn on the function and set it to aggressive.

Hope that helps.

This image shows 50,000 attacks in a 30 day history with in the firewall activity! is this normal? Should i be worried?

firewall.png

Just to let you all know i haven't hardened the firewall yet mentioned by BorisV.

Reliable Contributor Peacekeeper
Reliable Contributor
Message 5 of 8